4 Comments

Revell Fokker D.VII

Ok, so its been a good while since I actually posted any modeling content on here. That’s because I wasn’t building any “classic” kits I guess. Just a few days ago I found a 1/72 scale Revell Fokker D.VII at a flea market for less than $1.00. I couldn’t say no.

The kit is 1960s vintage and possesses none of the finesse of the Roden kit of the same aircraft. It is buildable though. In the coming weeks I’ll be documenting the build on here.

Lets begin.

To start with, I wanted to see if I could do something about the practical joke of a decal that Revell supplies for the underwing lozenge fabric. Its a white decal with the little polygons outlined in black. You’re supposed to paint each one in yourself. Yeah right! That’s going to look real good.

I wanted to see if I could get around that by coloring in the lozenges with Prismacolor pencils while the decal was still on its backing paper. The decals are pretty flat, so they take the colored pencils well. Revell gives you more of the lozenge than you will need, so I tested on a fragment by coating it with some Microscale Decal Film. I let it dry for about 20 minutes and then trimmed a fragment of the decal.

What do you know? It worked! Unfortunately it still looks fakey with those black outlines.
lozenges
So. Time for plan B. What’s plan B? I’m not sure yet. I would rather not have to purchase aftermarket lozenge decals just yet. Maybe I can find a scheme that had no unpainted fabric. Anybody know of any?

Still, its good to know that Prismacolor pencils can be used to draw on white, flat coated, decal paper to make intricate designs. Tuck that tip away for safe-keeping next time you need some nose-art. Cool!

Off to party away the old year now, but look for more updates soon.

4 comments on “Revell Fokker D.VII

  1. Interesting. Never seen decals like that before.

  2. Hi Ralph

    I’ve just bought that kit, and I was wondering if you had solved the colouring of the lower wing decals?

    Cheers

    Andrew

  3. Hi,
    I have a quick question about your blog, do you think you could email me?
    David

  4. You can buy them pre-printed through some online shops. Just google lozange decals 1/72.

Leave a Reply

