1 Comment

Sprue Cutter’s Union #13: Preparation

Jon B., over at the http://thecombatworkshop.blogspot.com/ has introduced a fun shared feature, where various modeling bloggers participate in a weekly discussion/shared topic. This is the first one I am participating in. Check out his site, and the links therein to see what the previous discussions were about. Some of them are pretty interesting.

The topic for this week is preparation for a new build. The previously published discussion on this topic were interesting for me to read. Like with all things modeling, some folks devote extensive amounts of time to a preparing for a build, while others don’t pay it any mind. Guys like Jon at http://thecombatworkshop.blogspot.com/2013/10/sprue-cutters-union-13-how-i-prepare.html seem to invest a lot of time and effort into doing background research for a build. Others, such as Mike Grant at http://migrantswanderings.blogspot.com/2013/10/best-laid-plans.html and David Knight at http://dknights.wordpress.com/2013/10/17/sprue-cutters-union-13/ don’t take it as far.

I myself tend not to do much background research on a subject. This isn’t because I don’t like to do research. As a professional scientist, research is my business. Perhaps this is one reason I like to keep it away from my hobby in large part. Another reason I don’t invest much time or energy into prep work is that I have a tendency to fall into projects.

When I finish a model I don’t actively plan what I’ll work on next. Instead I tend to spend a few days (or weeks sometimes) waffling back and forth between multiple projects. At some stage I’ll finally get past some invisible threshold on one or two of the projects and devote more time to them. There is no rhyme or reason to what gets picked. If anything, I tend to follow the path of least resistance, and get drawn to projects which are either A) well along in the build, B) not throwing up undue challenges, or C) projects influenced by other peoples’ builds which have excited me.

For example, the last two months I worked on some IL-2 kits. I finished both and wasn’t sure what I wanted to work on next. I started tinkering with an old Monogram A-4, then wandered over to a Revell Tornado for a night or two. But the two projects which really caught my fancy were a Fujimi F-14 which was already about 80% complete and an old Revell/StarfighterDecals P-26, which was inspired by some great Yellow-wings build threads by a fellow who calls himeself “Inch-high” over at the 72nd aircraft forum ()

By the time I get to this stage in a build. I’m too drawn in to do extensive background research. I may do a quick web search to see if I can see photos of the aircraft or tank to determine how to best weather it, but I can’t be bothered to find unit histories, detail close-ups and the like.

That isn’t entirely true. I tend to get a bit more obsessive about my AFV kits than my aircraft kits. I don’t know why. Maybe something to explore in a future topic.

So there you have it. My preparation is to not prepare. I model by the seat of my pants. I do enough planning in real life, and don’t need to make it an aspect of the great escape that this hobby provides for me.

Thanks Jon B. for introducing this activity. I look forward to next week’s topic. Readers, I hope you enjoy these philosophical posts.

 

Check out the following for more responses:

One comment on “Sprue Cutter’s Union #13: Preparation

  1. Nice post and I think I’m the same with after I complete a build it does take sometime and plenty if boxes being opened then closed again before a new build starts.

Leave a Reply

