Leave a comment

Jet bottom blues

Modeling modern military aircraft is not all “spray it with gray, and call it a day”. I actually don’t build that many jets because I find some aspects of their construction to be tedious and frustrating.  This largely is due to the number of parts that need to be added after the model is painted. The complex landing gear components, various slats, flaps, aerials, and of course all those missiles, which can be kits in themselves.

Nevertheless, I like modern aircraft, and sometimes find myself drawn to building them.  A project that has been getting much of my attention lately, has been Fujimi’s excellent 1/72 scale F-14A.  I’m about 90% finished with the build, but am not squarely in the frustrating part of the project.

I’ve broken the missile pylons and gear doors off a few times already, and I’ve been having trouble getting the landing gear to look convincing. The red edging on the doors has led to smudges of red paint on areas nowhere near them, which meant lots of touchup painting.

Getting all those stripes on the missiles took a couple of nights, but I’m still not sure I like how they look. What do you readers think? What can I do to improve these parts of the kit, and make working on them less frustrating.

Leave a Reply

